g i r f t y

Founders Circle Awards

On the occasion of its 20th anniversary in 2017, CENIC established the Founders Circle Award to honor the vision, creativity, and dedication of people who worked to found and build the organization. In 2017, CENIC recognized these 18 leaders central to the development during its early years:

  • Bill Clebsch (Stanford)
  • Mark Crase (CSU)
  • Jim Davis (UCLA)
  • Jim Dolgonas (UCOP)
  • Susan Estrada (Aldea Communications)
  • David Ernst (CSU)
  • Rich Fagan (Caltech)
  • Doug Hartline (UCD) 
  • Ron Johnson (UW)
  • Raman Khanna (Stanford) 
  • Claudia de Luna (JPL) 
  • Jim Madden (UCSD)
  • Don McLaughlin (UCSD)
  • Jim Pepin (USC)
  • Walt Prue (USC)
  • Michael Scott (USC)
  • John Silvester (USC)
  • Tom West (CSU)


In 2018, CENIC recognized a second group of these additional 17 leaders -- some of whom became early members of the CENIC board of directors or CENIC staff -- who played vital roles in the establishment of the CENIC network.

  • Celeste Anderson (USC)
  • Mark Boolootian (UCSC)
  • John Dundas III (Caltech & CENIC)
  • Sherilyn Evans (UCOP)
  • Cliff Frost (UCB)
  • Tom Hutton (UCSD)
  • Sidney Karin (UCSD)
  • Johanna Madjedi (CalPoly)
  • Bill Manning (USC/ISI)

  • David Reese (CSU)
  • Tad Reynales (UCSD)
  • Lea Roberts (Stanford)
  • Michael Sinatra (UCB)
  • Larry Smarr (UCSD/Calit2)
  • Wayne Sung (Stanford)
  • Michael Van Norman (UCLA)
  • Jim Warner (UCSC) 


All of these individuals were either early CENIC board members, designers of the original CalREN network, CENIC employees, or advisory committee chairs.  

“A remarkable group of technology leaders from across higher education institutions in California came together to help create CENIC. Just as CENIC members today work collaboratively to shape and govern the organization, these leaders worked collaboratively to lay the groundwork necessary to launch the world-class research and education network used by millions of Californians today,” said Louis Fox, President and CEO of CENIC.